Review: Pride and Prejudice

Okay, I failed. I said I was going to read “Ulysses” and I meant to but I heard I really need to read “Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man” first to get it and I lost my resolve. Two toughies right out the gate? No thanks.

So, I swung the complete opposite direction and tumbled into “Pride & Prejudice” by Jane Austen. I knew a little about the story going in, as I am a woman raised in the last 200 years, but it still delighted me.

P&P is really the story of Elizabeth Bennet. Elizabeth is one of five VERY different sisters, all of marrying age at a time when that was your sole job as a woman. Get that man, nail him down, find happy ever after. But here’s the thing about the 1810’s… manners dictated so much about how things were done that you had to be reserved but interested. You couldn’t ever tell anyone you liked them. The whole affair is very exhausting for this 20th century gal but the writing was light, funny and timeless. I thought I would be bored by the flowery speech of the time but the reader of my audiobook did these fabulous character voices that revealed the true double meaning. I found the last two chapters a little slow but other than that, it didn’t disappoint. Overall, a worthwhile read.

Now I need to rent the Colin Firth version of the movie because I hear it’s the best and the Rosetta Stone for understanding why ladies over 35 sweat him so much.

I will be picking a new book to tackle next week!

Leave a Reply

